The same river twice

I’ve become enamored with a little river on my commute to work. I believe it is trying to teach me something. Or maybe just tell me something that I’m supposed to communicate to you all…

Or maybe it’s just a river. A small beautiful river in the quiet Iowa countryside. A river many people don’t think twice about although they, like me, probably cross it twice a day. To and From.

I believe this river… It’s name is the Maquoketa River North Fork … at this particular place is one of the most beautiful sights in Eastern Iowa. And that’s saying something because we’ve got some sights!

So in preparing to put down some of my thoughts I went online to see if there was a nice photo I could add… and do you know what?

Nothing looks anything like what I see every day. The photos I’m seeing are muddy, and flat, and lethargic and the river I see daily is none of these things.

Which I thought was curious. Is this piece of this little river the last of it’s original beauty? Have we tamed it and bullied it into blandness?

I’m worried now about this little bit of rural magnificence. Can something so small, some snippet of landscape be called magnificent? If it is coming to the end of its existence then I would demand so!

Which is what I fear for my little river section. That it won’t last. That instead of the rest of the river becoming.. or rather returning.. to it’s former self.

If you happen to travel US 61 north to Dubuque anytime… look for it about 5 miles past Maquoketa. But look fast and to the East… and look soon. Or I’m afraid you’ll miss it.

 

Leave a Reply

